provides information on 1999 Cricket World Cup and other Cricket World Cups.
ICC Rankings

Top Performers

Cricket Records

Cricket Information and terminology

Cricket News
  Match Schedule

Types of Cricket

Cricket Grounds

Cricket Commentators

Cricket by Matches
  One Day Matches
  Test Matches

Players Profile

  Mahendra Dhoni
  Yuvraj Singh
  Sanath Jayasuriya
  Muttiah Muralitharan
  Andrew Symonds
  Ricky Ponting

Cricket Teams
  Sri Lanka

  New Zealand
  South Africa
  West Indies

World Cup Tickets

Cricket World Cup


Home » World Cup » 1999 Cricket World Cup

1999 Cricket World Cup

Here you will get to know all the information about 1999 Cricket World Cup. Feel the heat, thrill and excitement of the 1999 Cricket World Cup. Here we have reinvented the spirit of the 1999 Cricket World Cup.

1999 World Cup in England brought with it the old world charms of the game, chiefly because it was being held in the place where cricket first took birth. The much anticipated final at the historical Lords was a reason enough to cause considerable excitement. 1999 World Cup provided a complete counterpoint to the1996 World Cup. Held in the subcontinent, 1996 World Cup encountered colorfully dressed spectators who danced and screamed and hurled both shouts and bottles at the players. The spectators in England know that the game they are watching is intrinsically linked to their tradition, consequently, apart from few sporadic scatterings of youth who have fun anywhere, the spectators in England bear a subdued appearance.

There were 12 teams competing for the coveted cup. Apart from the minnows Zimbabwe, Kenya, Bangladesh and Scotland, every one knew that each of the other 8 teams stood a fair chance in lifting the cup.

The twelve teams participating in 1999 Cricket World Cup were:

Australia Pakistan England India South Africa West Indies New Zealand Sri Lanka Bangladesh Kenya Scotland Zimbabwe

The preceding Cricket World Cups had seen many new formats being introduced and cast out with equal alacrity: in 1999 World Cup too, a new format called super six was introduced. The tournament progressed smoothly producing some brilliant contests like the semi final between Australia and South Africa. Though the scores were tied, Australia was declared the winner for having beaten South Africa before in the Super-Six round. For the first time since its inception, England failed to make it to the World Cup finals- a shameful debacle in front of the cheering home team. The final of the 1999 Cricket World Cup in England was held between Australia and Pakistan. The former trounced the 1992 winner in a one-sided match, winning by 8 wickets. provides information on 1999 Cricket World Cup and other Cricket World Cups.
About 1999 Cricket World Cup
Year 1999
Participating Teams Australia, England, India, New Zealand, Pakistan, West Indies, Sri Lanka, Zimbabwe, South Africa, Bangladesh, Kenya, Scotland
Host Nations England
Winner Australia
Winning Captain Steve Waugh
Runner Up Pakistan
Man of the series Shane Warne

Custom Search