offers information and other guidelines on the 1992 Cricket World Cup in Australia and New Zealand.
ICC Rankings

Top Performers

Cricket Records

Cricket Information and terminology

Cricket News
  Match Schedule

Types of Cricket

Cricket Grounds

Cricket Commentators

Cricket by Matches
  One Day Matches
  Test Matches

Players Profile

  Mahendra Dhoni
  Yuvraj Singh
  Sanath Jayasuriya
  Muttiah Muralitharan
  Andrew Symonds
  Ricky Ponting

Cricket Teams
  Sri Lanka

  New Zealand
  South Africa
  West Indies

World Cup Tickets

Cricket World Cup


Home » World Cup » 1992 Cricket World Cup

1992 Cricket World Cup

Here you will get to know all the information about 1992 Cricket World Cup. Feel the heat, thrill and excitement of the 1992 Cricket World Cup. Here we have reinvented the spirit of the 1992 Cricket World Cup.

The 1992 Cricket World Cup in Australia and New Zealand was held from February 22 to March 25, 1992. The 1992 Cricket World Cup, also known as the Benson and Hedges Cup was the first World Cup that saw the participation of South Africa. As a result of South Africa's inclusion, certain changes in format were seen in this World Cup from the previous four. Every team played against each other in the league stage. Thus, the number of matches played in total were a lot more than before. The top four teams qualified for the semis. This World Cup saw many changes and the introduction of new rules as well. For the first time, the players wore colored jerseys and white balls were used. Also, Day and Night matches were held and rules were introduced for rain-affected games. The 1992 Cricket World Cup in Australia and New Zealand saw the participation of nine nations. All were test-playing nations and so the competition was intense. England, Pakistan, New Zealand and South Africa qualified for the semifinals. The final was played between England and Pakistan, with Pakistan emerging as the new World Champions.

The participating countries were:

Australia England India New Zealand Pakistan South Africa Sri Lanka West Indies Zimbabwe

The final was played at the Melbourne Cricket Ground under lights and in front of a packed stadium. Pakistan defeated England by 22 runs to register their first ever World Cup victory. It was a double relief for the Pakistani fans and cricket lovers around the world as Pakistan had started as a weak link, with some mediocre performances in the initial stages of the tournament. Imran Khan was the victorious captain who lifted the Benson and Hedges Cup. Wasim Akram was adjourned man of the match and Martin Crowe of New Zealand was declared the man of the series. Like all the other Cricket World Cups, the 1992 Cricket World Cup in Australia and New Zealand saw the game of cricket emerge victorious. This fact was further consolidated by the inclusion of South Africa in the tournament. provides information on the 1992 Cricket World Cup in Australia and New Zealand and the other Cricket World Cups.
About 1992 Cricket World Cup
Year 1992
Participating Teams Australia, England, India, New Zealand, Pakistan, West Indies, Sri Lanka, Zimbabwe, South Africa
Host Nations Australia / New Zealand
Winner Pakistan
Winning Captain Imran Khan
Runner Up England
Man of the Match Wasim Akram

Custom Search