offers information and other guidelines on the 1979 Cricket World Cup in England.
ICC Rankings

Top Performers

Cricket Records

Cricket Information and terminology

Cricket News
  Match Schedule

Types of Cricket

Cricket Grounds

Cricket Commentators

Cricket by Matches
  One Day Matches
  Test Matches

Players Profile

  Mahendra Dhoni
  Yuvraj Singh
  Sanath Jayasuriya
  Muttiah Muralitharan
  Andrew Symonds
  Ricky Ponting

Cricket Teams
  Sri Lanka

  New Zealand
  South Africa
  West Indies

World Cup Tickets

Cricket World Cup


Home » World Cup » 1979 Cricket World Cup

1979 Cricket World Cup

Here you will get to know all the information about 1979 Cricket World Cup. Feel the heat, thrill and excitement of the 1979 Cricket World Cup. Here we have reinvented the spirit of the 1979 Cricket World Cup.

After the success of the 1975 Cricket World Cup, the ICC organized the 1979 Cricket World Cup in England. It was the second edition of the Cricket World Cup and was as much of a success as its predecessor. Played in an unchanged format from the 1975 World Cup, the 1979 Cricket World Cup in England too saw participation from 8 countries. Unfortunately South Africa was left out and to fill the spot, a tournament was held among the junior countries and Canada and Sri Lanka qualified from there. The participating nations were:

England Australia New Zealand West Indies India Pakistan Sri Lanka Canada

West Indies emerged winners yet again, and this time beat England by 92 runs in the final held at the famous Lords cricket ground. Vivian Richards was declared man of the match. With this victory, the men from the Caribbean consolidated their position as World Champions.

New Zealand and Pakistan were the two other semi finalists. The tournament attracted fans from all over the world and the matches were played in packed stadiums. The usual design of 60 overs, white uniforms and red balls was maintained.

Prudential was the sponsor of the 1979 Cricket World Cup and so the tournament is also referred to as the Prudential Cup. provides information on the 1979 Cricket World Cup in England and the other Cricket World Cups.
About 1979 Cricket World Cup
Year 1979
Participating Teams Australia, England, India, New Zealand, Pakistan, West Indies, Sri Lanka, Canada
Host Nations England
Winner West Indies
Winning Captain Clive Lloyd
Runner Up England
Man of the March None

Custom Search