offers information and other guidelines on the 1975 Cricket World Cup in England.
ICC Rankings

Top Performers

Cricket Records

Cricket Information and terminology

Cricket News
  Match Schedule

Types of Cricket

Cricket Grounds

Cricket Commentators

Cricket by Matches
  One Day Matches
  Test Matches

Players Profile

  Mahendra Dhoni
  Yuvraj Singh
  Sanath Jayasuriya
  Muttiah Muralitharan
  Andrew Symonds
  Ricky Ponting

Cricket Teams
  Sri Lanka

  New Zealand
  South Africa
  West Indies

World Cup Tickets

Cricket World Cup


Home » World Cup » 1975 Cricket World Cup

1975 Cricket World Cup

Here you will get to know all the information about 1975 Cricket World Cup. Feel the heat, thrill and excitement of the 1975 Cricket World Cup. Here we have reinvented the spirit of the 1975 Cricket World Cup.

The 1975 Cricket World Cup in England was the first edition of the ICC Cricket World Cup. It was the pioneer for the greatest event in Cricket. With eight nations participating, the 1975 Cricket World Cup in England was a major success and paved the way for many more to come. Held in England from June 7 - June 21, the first World Cup saw the West Indies walk away as champions. The West Indies, led by Clive Lloyd was the favorites from the beginning of the tournament and clinched the series by defeating Australia by 17 runs in the final. Clive Lloyd was declared the man-of-the-match. Eight countries participated in the 1975 Cricket World Cup in England. They were:

. Australia . England . India . New Zealand . Pakistan . West Indies . Sri Lanka . East Africa

All the participating countries except Sri Lanka were test-playing nations. The teams were divided into two groups and the top two teams from each group qualified for the semi-finals. These were:

England Australia New Zealand West Indies

The matches of the 1975 Cricket World Cup were of 60 overs each and were played only during the day. As a result of this the matches began early. Watched by spectators in packed stadiums, the matches were also relayed over radio to most countries, as television wasn't so popular back then. The players sported the traditional white uniforms and only red balls were used.

With the World Cup off to a flying start, the ICC decided to hold the tournament every four years. The following years have seen participation from many other countries and the popularity of the Cricket World Cup just keeps rising. provides information on the 1975 Cricket World Cup in England and the other Cricket World Cups.
About 1975 Cricket World Cup
Year 1975
Participating Teams Australia, England, India, New Zealand, Pakistan, West Indies, Sri Lanka, East Africa
Host Nations England
Winner West Indies
Winning Captain Clive Lloyd
Runner Up Australia
Man of the Match None

Custom Search