provides information on Test Cricket and other types of Cricket
ICC Rankings

Top Performers

Cricket Records

Cricket Information and terminology

Cricket News
  Match Schedule

Types of Cricket

Cricket Grounds

Cricket Commentators

Cricket by Matches
  One Day Matches
  Test Matches

Players Profile

  Mahendra Dhoni
  Yuvraj Singh
  Sanath Jayasuriya
  Muttiah Muralitharan
  Andrew Symonds
  Ricky Ponting

Cricket Teams
  Sri Lanka

  New Zealand
  South Africa
  West Indies

World Cup Tickets

Cricket World Cup


Home » Types of Cricket »Test Cricket
Test Cricket
Despite the fact that One Day Cricket is the most recognizable and viewed form of cricket, Test cricket is yet the most challenging and considered the most reliable yardstick to measure the worth of a team. Test Cricket is also the longest form of cricket and involves five days.

History of Test Cricket

The first test match is believed to have been played between England and Australia in 1877. The two countries were the first ones with test status, two years later South Africa too joined the list. At present there are ten test playing nations. Bangladesh became the tenth country to be granted the test status in late 2000.

Rules of Test Cricket

The captain who wins the toss decides whether his team bats first or bowls first. His decision is predicated on many factors- such as the condition of the pitch-whether it is bowler friendly or suits a batsmen more, or whether it has lot of grass etc; and also by the prevailing weather conditions.

The team that bats first (let us call it Team 1) piles on as many runs as possible before it is bowled out or declares the inning. Next, the Team 2 is put into bat and it tries to surpass Team 1's total, while the latter works at bowling it out. After Team 2 declares or gets bowled out, Team 1 bats again and sets a target for the opposing team. If Team 2 can overcome the total then it wins or if all its players get dismissed then it loses the test match. One important rule to be noted is that the result in a test match can only be achieved if one team surpasses the target or gets bowled out before the lapse of five days; otherwise the match will be declared a draw.

The Teams

Australia is presently the premier test playing country. A truly balanced test side, as many purist would vouch for, comprises 5 specialist batsmen and as many specialized bowlers. Test Cricket is a veritable 'test' of the team's capabilities. provides information on Test Cricket and other types of Cricket.

Custom Search