provides information on the Yorkshire County Cricket Club
ICC Rankings

Top Performers

Cricket Records

Cricket Information and terminology

Cricket News
  Match Schedule

Types of Cricket

Cricket Grounds

Cricket Commentators

Cricket by Matches
  One Day Matches
  Test Matches

Players Profile

  Mahendra Dhoni
  Yuvraj Singh
  Sanath Jayasuriya
  Muttiah Muralitharan
  Andrew Symonds
  Ricky Ponting

Cricket Teams
  Sri Lanka

  New Zealand
  South Africa
  West Indies

World Cup Tickets

Cricket World Cup


Home » Types of Cricket » County Cricket» Yorkshire County Cricket Club
Yorkshire County Cricket Club
The Yorkshire County Cricket Club is one of the 18 major county clubs of England. Their ODI squad is named the Yorkshire Phoenix.


The Yorkshire County Cricket Club was founded on January 8, 1863 in the Adelphi Hotel, Sheffield based at Bramall Lane and played its opening first-class match against Surrey at The Oval on 4, 5 & 6 June, 1863. It was a rain-affected draw, evenly balanced.

The Ground

The Headingley Stadium at Leeds is home to the Yorkshire County Cricket Club. However, the club have another important venue at North Marine Road, Scarborough.

Playing Record

The Yorkshire County Cricket Club have always been a dominant force in the English county championships. They were quite dangerous till before the Second World War and were known to wrap up matches in a span of two or three days. The 1950s saw Surrey overtaking Yorkshire, but the in the 1960s, Yorkshire once again established their stronghold and won the County Championship a staggering six times in the decade. However, towards the end of the century, controversies and disputes occurred and that affected the team's performance. The county however, once again began performing well and in 2001 won the County Championship for the first time since 1968. They finished 2006 without losing a game and once again regained their Division One status that they had temporarily lost.

Famous Players

The Yorkshire County Cricket Club was known for its policy of not allowing any player born outside the county to represent the club. This rule was in practice till 1992 and that meant that Yorkshire never got the services of the popular foreigners. However, after the rule was relaxed and starts like Michael Vaughan, Sachin Tendulkar and Michael Bevan became associated with the club. The club has a long list of famous players who played for them and some of them even went on to captain England. Some of the most famous Yorkshire players are:

  • Ray Illingworth
  • Herbert Sutcliffe
  • Geoff Boycott
  • Fred Trueman
  • Percy Holmes
  • Len Hutton
  • Jimmy Binks
  • Vic Wilson
  • Phil Sharpe
  • Matthew Hoggard
  • Michael Vaughan
  • Johnny Wardle
  • Norman Yardley provides information on the Yorkshire County Cricket Club and the other County Cricket Clubs in English domestic cricket.

Custom Search