gives information on Warwickshire County Cricket Club and the other County teams
ICC Rankings

Top Performers

Cricket Records

Cricket Information and terminology

Cricket News
  Match Schedule

Types of Cricket

Cricket Grounds

Cricket Commentators

Cricket by Matches
  One Day Matches
  Test Matches

Players Profile

  Mahendra Dhoni
  Yuvraj Singh
  Sanath Jayasuriya
  Muttiah Muralitharan
  Andrew Symonds
  Ricky Ponting

Cricket Teams
  Sri Lanka

  New Zealand
  South Africa
  West Indies

World Cup Tickets

Cricket World Cup


Home » Types of Cricket » County Cricket» Warwickshire County Cricket Club
Warwickshire County Cricket Club
Warwickshire is one of most famous county clubs of England. It was playing for this club that Brian Lara scored 501 not out. For the one day matches, the Warwickshire County Cricket Club uses the name Warwickshire Bears.

Early years of Warwickshire County Cricket Club

Warwickshire County Cricket Club was formed in 1882. Even in its years in county cricket, the club was playing competitive matches against established teams like Yorkshire and Surrey. Soon Surrey gained reputation for its batting but not many victories came their way because their bowling lacked fire. Then came Frank Foster with his gentle medium pace and swept the County Championship in 1911- Warwickshire's first.

Later County Championships

The second championship for Warwickshire came in 1951, thanks to the newly recruted foreign player Thomas Pritchard. The New Zealand speedster, along with Hollies destroyed the best of batting line up and gave a fresh lease of life to the feeble Warwickshire County Cricket Club.

The third championship, which came Warwickshire County Cricket Club way in 1972, was subsequently followed by a slump in the club's performance.

The Warwickshire County Cricket Club's moment of glory came in 1994 when it won three tournaments-the County Championship, Axa Equity and Law League (now changed to National Cricket League) and Benson and Hedges Cup. This happened during the captaincy of Dermot Reeve.

The Warwickshire County Cricket Club won the County Championship again in 2004. At present, Heath Streak is the captain of the team, while Mark Greatbatch has been roped in as a coach.

Custom Search