provides information on the Leicestershire County Cricket Club
ICC Rankings

Top Performers

Cricket Records

Cricket Information and terminology

Cricket News
  Match Schedule

Types of Cricket

Cricket Grounds

Cricket Commentators

Cricket by Matches
  One Day Matches
  Test Matches

Players Profile

  Mahendra Dhoni
  Yuvraj Singh
  Sanath Jayasuriya
  Muttiah Muralitharan
  Andrew Symonds
  Ricky Ponting

Cricket Teams
  Sri Lanka

  New Zealand
  South Africa
  West Indies

World Cup Tickets

Cricket World Cup


Home » Types of Cricket » County Cricket» Leicestershire County Cricket Club
Leicestershire County Cricket Club

The Leicestershire County Cricket Club joined the English domestic cricket circuit in 1895. The county club is founded at Grace Road, Leicester. The one day squad is know as the Leicestershire Foxes.


The county struggled initially and took them almost seventy years to make a mark, when in the 1950s, secretary-captain Charles Palmer motivated the side to a commendable third place finish at the County Championship. That was the beginning of a success story and in the 1960s and 1970s, Leicestershire did very well to finish among the top positions many a times, winning the County Championship in 1975. They were also victorious in 1996 and 1998. Apart from the county championships, Leicestershire have won a number of other tournaments. They are the current Twenty20 champions, and had previously won the tournament in 2004 as well. They won the Benson & Hedges Cup in 1985 and 1995, and the Sunday League consecutively in 1974 and 1975. However, unfortunately of late the team have not been able to perform well at all. They are currently placed at lower divisions of both cricket leagues.


One of the reasons for Leicestershire's disappointing performance has been its lack of playing talent. Though there have been some world class players in the past who have represented the county, the club has mostly been denied of a talented bunch of players. Some of the famous players who played for the Leicestershire County Cricket Club are:

  • Aftab Habib
  • Darren Maddy
  • Alan Mullally
  • Chris Lewis
  • Jeremy Snape
  • Chris Balderstone
  • Dickie Bird
  • David Constant
  • Tony Lock
  • Hansie Cronje
  • Devon Malcolm
  • David Gower
  • Ken Higgs
  • Ray Illingworth
  • Willie Watson
  • Anil Kumble
  • Phil Simmons
  • Jimmy Ormond
  • John Steele provides information on the Leicestershire County Cricket Club and other County Cricket Clubs in the England.

Custom Search