provides information on the Lancashire County Cricket Club
ICC Rankings

Top Performers

Cricket Records

Cricket Information and terminology

Cricket News
  Match Schedule

Types of Cricket

Cricket Grounds

Cricket Commentators

Cricket by Matches
  One Day Matches
  Test Matches

Players Profile

  Mahendra Dhoni
  Yuvraj Singh
  Sanath Jayasuriya
  Muttiah Muralitharan
  Andrew Symonds
  Ricky Ponting

Cricket Teams
  Sri Lanka

  New Zealand
  South Africa
  West Indies

World Cup Tickets

Cricket World Cup


Home » Types of Cricket » County Cricket» Lancashire County Cricket Club
Lancashire County Cricket Club

The Lancashire County Cricket Club was established in 1864 and played their opening first class match in 1865. Old Trafford at Manchester has long been the home ground of the Lancashire County Cricket Club. They have won the County Championships 12 times.


The Lancashire County Cricket Club were an immensely powerful side in the earlier days. They won the County Championship 12 times. However that was all before the war and since 1950 till date, the club has failed to win the title even once. The club has been unable to repeat the magic of the past in the County Championships, but it has found success in the shorter version of the game, nonetheless. Lancashire were the Sunday League champions in 1969, 1970, 1989, 1998, 1999 and 2003. The team won the NatWest Trophy in 1970, 1971, 1972, 1975, 1990, 1996 and 1998, the Benson & Hedges Cup in 1984, 1990, 1995 and 1996 and were also victories in the 1988 Refuge Cup.


One of Lancashire's major strengths has been its pool of immensely talented players. Known to play with quality players, both national and international, the team has benefited a lot from having world class cricketers who have contributed over the years. Some of the famous players to have donned the Lancashire uniform are:

  • Michael Holding
  • Frank Hayes
  • Warren Hegg
  • Farokh Engineer
  • Paul Allott
  • James Anderson
  • Mike Atherton
  • Dick Barlow
  • Johnny Briggs
  • Ken Higgs
  • Neil Fairbrother
  • Andrew Flintoff
  • Clive Lloyd
  • Albert Hornby
  • Wasim Akram
  • David Lloyd
  • Patrick Patterson
  • Archie MacLaren
  • Sajid Mahmood
  • Muttiah Muralitharan
  • Cyril Washbrook
  • Brian Statham
  • Andrew Symonds provides information on the Lancashire County Cricket Club and other County Cricket Clubs in the England.

Custom Search