gives information on Kent County Cricket Club and the other County teams
ICC Rankings

Top Performers

Cricket Records

Cricket Information and terminology

Cricket News
  Match Schedule

Types of Cricket

Cricket Grounds

Cricket Commentators

Cricket by Matches
  One Day Matches
  Test Matches

Players Profile

  Mahendra Dhoni
  Yuvraj Singh
  Sanath Jayasuriya
  Muttiah Muralitharan
  Andrew Symonds
  Ricky Ponting

Cricket Teams
  Sri Lanka

  New Zealand
  South Africa
  West Indies

World Cup Tickets

Cricket World Cup


Home » Types of Cricket » County Cricket» Kent County Cricket Club
Kent County Cricket Club
Kent County Cricket Club is one of the strongest county teams in England. The club plays the limited overs version of first class cricket under the name Kent Spitfires. Kent County Cricket Club finished the 2005 season with fifth position in Division One of the County Championship.

History of Kent County Cricket Club

Kent shares with Sussex, the honour of being the birthplace of Cricket. Many ascribe the invention of the game of the children living in Weald, which covered Kent and Sussex. By 17th century, cricket was an established game in Kent and there were various village tournaments held every year.

The measure of respect Kent enjoyed as a cricket team in the 18th century may be estimated by the fact that the All-England team played lot of matches against it. Kent found early support in the patronage Lord John Philip Sackville, his son John Frederick Sackville, 3rd Duke of Dorset.

It was not until 6 August 1842 that Kent County Cricket Club was officially registered in Canterbury.

Famous Players of Kent County Cricket Club

Kent has produced a number of cricket who have gone on to make quite a mark in international cricket. Some of the famous ones are- Frank Wooley, Colin Cowdrey, Derek Underwood, Mike Denness and Alan Knot. The present Kent County Cricket Club too has players who feature in the regular England team. They being Geraint Jones, Robert Key. The overseas players in the present kent team are Justin Kemp and Andrew Hall. gives information on Kent County Cricket Club and the other County teams.

Custom Search