provides information on the Gloucestershire County Cricket Club
ICC Rankings

Top Performers

Cricket Records

Cricket Information and terminology

Cricket News
  Match Schedule

Types of Cricket

Cricket Grounds

Cricket Commentators

Cricket by Matches
  One Day Matches
  Test Matches

Players Profile

  Mahendra Dhoni
  Yuvraj Singh
  Sanath Jayasuriya
  Muttiah Muralitharan
  Andrew Symonds
  Ricky Ponting

Cricket Teams
  Sri Lanka

  New Zealand
  South Africa
  West Indies

World Cup Tickets

Cricket World Cup


Home » Types of Cricket » County Cricket» Gloucestershire County Cricket Club
Gloucestershire County Cricket Club

The Gloucestershire County Cricket Club was established in 1871. The team's home ground is the County Cricket Ground, Bristol. The Gloucestershire one day squad is known as the Gloucestershire Gladiators.


Though Gloucestershire have never won the County Championships, they have finished runners up in 1930, 1931, 1947, 1959, 1969, and 1986. They have, however been more successful in the shorter version of the game, winning the Benson & Hedges Cup in 1977, 1999 and 2000. They were also victorious in the 2000 National League.


While looking at the greats who represented the Gloucestershire County Cricket Club over the years, one has to sit back and take notice of the sheer line up of masters that played for this county. The man who leads it is WG Grace, the grand legend of cricket. Grace is one of the most successful cricketers of all times and it is in Gloucestershire that he first played cricket. Apart from WG Grace, Gloucestershire also had some other internationally renowned cricketers play for the county. Some of them are:

  • Gilbert Jessop
  • W.R. Hammond
  • Tom Graveney
  • T.W. Graveney
  • M.J. Procter
  • Zaheer Abbas
  • C.A. Walsh
  • R.C. Russell provides information on the Gloucestershire County Cricket Club and other County Cricket Clubs in the England.

Custom Search