provides information on the Glamorgan County Cricket Club
ICC Rankings

Top Performers

Cricket Records

Cricket Information and terminology

Cricket News
  Match Schedule

Types of Cricket

Cricket Grounds

Cricket Commentators

Cricket by Matches
  One Day Matches
  Test Matches

Players Profile

  Mahendra Dhoni
  Yuvraj Singh
  Sanath Jayasuriya
  Muttiah Muralitharan
  Andrew Symonds
  Ricky Ponting

Cricket Teams
  Sri Lanka

  New Zealand
  South Africa
  West Indies

World Cup Tickets

Cricket World Cup


Home » Types of Cricket » County Cricket» Glamorgan County Cricket Club
Glamorgan County Cricket Club

The Glamorgan County Cricket Club was established in 1888. The Glamorgan County Cricket Club has the distinction of being the only County Cricket Club in Wales. With its headquarters at Cardiff, Glamorgan play most of their home matches at the Sophia Gardens. Their one day side is known as the Glamorgan Dragons.


Glamorgan have had a very promising run in English domestic cricket. From the time they started playing competitive cricket in 1921, they have won several tournaments and have always proved to be a hard side to beat. They won the County Championships in 1948, 1969 and 1997. A major honor that the county holds is that they have beaten all international teams, including Australia. This is indeed a rare distinction. They also won the National League in 1993 and 2002 and won the one day league again in 2004, and the same year were runners up at the Twenty20 contest. 2004 was indeed a successful year for the Glamorgan County Cricket Club and it ended with them being promoted to Division One of the County Championships.


Glamorgan have been represented by many noted players over the years. Both national and international players have played for this Wales County. Johnnie Clay, Maurice Turnbull, Hugh Morris, Matthew Maynard, Robert Croft and Sourav Ganguly are some of the famous players to have represented the Glamorgan County Cricket Club in the English County Championships. provides information on the Glamorgan County Cricket Club and other County Cricket Clubs in the England.

Custom Search