provides information on the Derbyshire County Cricket Club
ICC Rankings

Top Performers

Cricket Records

Cricket Information and terminology

Cricket News
  Match Schedule

Types of Cricket

Cricket Grounds

Cricket Commentators

Cricket by Matches
  One Day Matches
  Test Matches

Players Profile

  Mahendra Dhoni
  Yuvraj Singh
  Sanath Jayasuriya
  Muttiah Muralitharan
  Andrew Symonds
  Ricky Ponting

Cricket Teams
  Sri Lanka

  New Zealand
  South Africa
  West Indies

World Cup Tickets

Cricket World Cup


Home » Types of Cricket » County Cricket» Derbyshire County Cricket Club
Derbyshire County Cricket Club

Derbyshire County Cricket Club became a part of the county Championship in 1895. It is the English domestic first class team that is based at the County Cricket Ground. The county team's one day squad is called the Derbyshire Phantoms.


Derbyshire were never one of the stronger sides in the English domestic circuit. In the history of the club, Derbyshire have won the County Championships just once, in 1936. This was a boost for the team which had performed rather poorly before that. The performance dipped especially in the early 1920s and in 1920, Derbyshire ended the season without a single win to their credit.


Derbyshire have never been able to dominate the county Championships, but some of the Derbyshire players have been successful and have even represented England in international matches. Some of the prominent Derbyshire players are:

  • William Storer
  • William Chatterton
  • Denis Smith
  • Stan Worthington
  • George Pope
  • Bill Copson
  • Donald Carr
  • Cliff Gladwin
  • Les Jackson
  • Mike Hendrick
Derbyshire were placed in Division Two in both the County Championship and one day league. Graeme Welch is currently leading the side while former Zimbabwe Test player David Houghton is the coach. provides information on the Derbyshire County Cricket Club and other County Cricket Clubs in the England.

Custom Search