provides information on the Australian Team World Cup History
ICC Rankings

Top Performers

Cricket Records

Cricket Information and terminology

Cricket News
  Match Schedule

Types of Cricket

Cricket Grounds

Cricket Commentators

Cricket by Matches
  One Day Matches
  Test Matches

Players Profile

  Mahendra Dhoni
  Yuvraj Singh
  Sanath Jayasuriya
  Muttiah Muralitharan
  Andrew Symonds
  Ricky Ponting

Cricket Teams
  Sri Lanka

  New Zealand
  South Africa
  West Indies

World Cup Tickets

Cricket World Cup


Home » Team Profiles » Australian Team World Cup History
Australian Team World Cup History
Australia is the only country to have won the cricket World Cup thrice. They were victories in 1987, 1999 and 2003.

  • In the first World Cup in 1975, Australia performed moderately well and reached the finals where they were defeated by the West Indies.

  • In the 1979 World Cup, Australia did not put up a very good show and failed to make it to the semifinals also.

  • The 1983 World Cup saw Australia performing rather poorly and they even lost to underdogs Zimbabwe in the tournament. Once again, they failed to reach the semifinals.

  • There were better things in store for Australia in the 1987 World Cup. After getting off to a good start by defeating India by one run, Australia raced their way to victory. They finished at the top of their group along with India with twenty points. In the semifinals, facing Pakistan, Australia put up a brilliant show and beat Pakistan by 18 runs. In the finals, they tasted victory by defeating arch rivals England in one of the closest matches in cricketing history. That was the first of Australia's three World Cup wins.

  • The 1992 World Cup was held in Australia and New Zealand and Australia started the game as one of the favorites. However, they did not live up to the expectations and failed to make it to the semifinals.

  • In the 1996 World Cup, Australia finished the tournament as runners up for the second time. They played well to reach the finals but were beaten in the finals by Sri Lanka.

  • The 1999 World Cup was again a very successful outing for the Australians. They announced their dominance in world cricket by comprehensively winning the tournament, defeating Pakistan in the finals. They played exceptionally well all through the series. In the final, they dismissed Pakistan on a measly 132 runs and cruised to victory in just 20 overs at the loss of two wickets. Shane Warne was declared man of the match as Steve Waugh, the victories captain lifted the trophy among the loud celebrations of team mates and fans.

  • Very honestly, prior to the start of the 2003 World Cup, very few expected any country other than Australia to win the tournament. Australia were at that point quite indomitable and it would be a Herculean task to take the cup away from them. As expected, Australia emerged winners by defeating India (who were perhaps the only team in the contest who gave Australia some competition) in the finals. The Australians put up their best performance in the 2003 World Cup and remained undefeated throughout the whole series. Ricky Ponting was declared man of the match. provides information on the Australian Team World Cup History and history of other teams in the World Cup.

Custom Search