gives information on Ashes Cricket Tournament Records and other details on Ashes
ICC Rankings

Top Performers

Cricket Records

Cricket Information and terminology

Cricket News
  Match Schedule

Types of Cricket

Cricket Grounds

Cricket Commentators

Cricket by Matches
  One Day Matches
  Test Matches

Players Profile

  Mahendra Dhoni
  Yuvraj Singh
  Sanath Jayasuriya
  Muttiah Muralitharan
  Andrew Symonds
  Ricky Ponting

Cricket Teams
  Sri Lanka

  New Zealand
  South Africa
  West Indies

World Cup Tickets

Cricket World Cup


Home » Ashes » Ashes Cricket Tournament Records
Ashes Cricket Tournament Records
Till date, 62 Ashes Series have been played. Australia has won 30; England 27 and remaining have been drawn. The 123 years of Ashes history has witnessed some of the most pitched battles and ugly episodes like 'the bodyline series'. Heroes have been born overnight aided by wonderful performances at the Ashes.

Barring the eight consecutive wins for England since 1882-90, Australia has dominated the Ashes series since then. Australia's initial domination coincided with the brilliance of Don Bradman. It was Bradman who single-handedly won Australia the Ashes in 1932. England under Douglas Jardine responded with the Bodyline tactics. The tactics worked as England won the 1934 series but it also generated a huge round of protest back home in Australia that threatened to cause a serious damage to the diplomatic relationship between the two countries.

After Bradman's retirement in 1948, Australian team went through a period of slump, as a result England bounced back and effected three series victories from 1953-1959. Since then Ashes series have regularly gone in favor of the Australians, punctuated only by few instances of brilliance of Geoffrey Boycott and later Ian Botham.

The last Ashes series was held in 2005 in England. It was a one of the exciting of the Ashes series for a long time, largely because the previous ones had all been heavily weighed on the side of the Australians. England won the series thus ending 16 years of Australia's domination of the Ashes series. Andrew Flintoff emerged as the latest hero, drawing comparisons with another Ashes hero-Ian Botham. gives information on Ashes Cricket Tournament Records and other details on Ashes.

Custom Search